Depending on the state, you may or may not lawfully have to wear a motorcycle helmet.
Under Minnesota law, all motorcycle operators and riders under 18 must wear a helmet. Also, all operators driving a motorcycle under a learner’s permit, regardless of age, must wear a helmet.
In Minnesota there is no obligation to wear a helmet for motorcycle operators above 18 years old. A lot of other states such as California do have these requirements for everyone.
Where you involved in a motorcycle accident? Our Bloomington motorcycle accident lawyers at Weston Law Office are here to help.
As mentioned above, all riders under 18 years old oro who are driving a motorcycle with a learner’s permit need to wear a helmet.
Those driving under a learner’s permit are not allowed to carry passengers, nor can they drive on interstates at night.
Minnesota law also requires everyone that drives a motorcycle (regardless of age), to wear eye protection. This gear must comply with the standards established by Minnesota’s Commissioner of Public Safety.
There are exceptions to Minnesota’s helmet and eye protection laws. For those riding within an enclosed cab, or those that are participating in an officially-authorized parade, these laws do not apply.
If you need to wear a motorcycle helmet in Minnesota (as a minor, or when you’re learning), and you fail to do so, then you could face a traffic ticket and fine.
Yes, breaking Minnesota’s motorcycle helmet law could negatively impact a motorcycle accident injury claim.
Choosing not to wear a motorcycle helmet could put you at risk both physically and legally.
We would recommend always wearing a helmet, even if this is not required in Minnesota. Without a helmet you are greatly increasing your chances of sustaining a serious head or brain injury.
In short, if the Minnesota’s motorcycle helmet law applies to you, and you ignore this, then this can be a valid reason for the courts to reduce your compensatory award.